Small Things Considered 2019 November 22 2019

Small Things Considered
A Special Holiday Group Exhibition

On View: December 7, 2019 - January 8, 2020
Opening Reception: Saturday, December 7, 4-7 PM
Extended Gallery Hours on December 7: 9 AM–7 PM

Just in time for the gift-giving season, Small Things Considered provides art lovers with the perfect opportunity to find one-of-a-kind gifts for everyone on their holiday list. This year's featured artwork encompasses a range of media including painting, sculpture, jewelry, printmaking, ceramics, photography and more. 

There is also a diverse range of subject matter depicted in this year's exhibition. Gallery Director, Meghan Martin elaborates, "From the vibrant, energized abstractions by acrylic painter Cynthia Vener, to the subtle beauty of Anita Kusick's formal still-lifes, this year's selection covers a range of stylistic approaches and subject matter." Additional examples of work in this year’s display include tranquil seascapes by Orlando based painter Stephen Bach; intimate handcrafted jewelry designs by Cocoa Beach metalsmith Pamela Werneth; energized floral impressions by Orlando artist Robert Ross; and tactile raku-fired clay figures by St. Augustine ceramicist Donna McCarthy-Jensen. 

Of this year's 41 participants, 28 Arts on Douglas artists are participating in this exhibition, including Stephen Bach, Susan Bach, Kelly Berning, Trent Berning, Donne Bitner, Victor Bokas, Thomas Brewer, Stacey Fletcher, Todd K. Fox, Carly Gibran Hamid, Ed Harris, John Hart, Jane Jennings, Riitta Klint, BJ Lantz, Inverna Lockpez, Karlene McConnell, Joseph Palmerio, Sara Pedigo, Christine Peloquin, Robert Ross, Jo Sinclair, Wendy Tatter, Rose Thome Casterline, Trish Thompson, Anna Tomczak, Copper Tritscheller and Pamela Werneth.

Beyond our current roster of artists, each year the gallery holds an open call for Florida artists to submit work to be included in this exhibition. This year,13 guest artists were selected from over 50 submissions. This year's guest artists include Weronica Ankarörn, Sabrina Conroy, Lauren Ferrari, Anita Kusick, Donna McCarthy-Jensen, David Meier, Peggi Nadeau, Jennifer Payne, Sarah Rigas, Juliana Romnes, Per Hans Romnes, Catherine Van Lancker, and Cynthia Vener.